

# Crediton Town Council



### Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Town Council held on 19 May 2009

Present:

Councillors Mr F Letch (Chairman)

Mr W Brown Mr J Downes Miss J Harris Mr N Way

Mrs L Brookes-Hocking

Mr P Finnegan Mr D Nation Mr R Wright

2

Mr R Adams (part meeting)

In Attendance:

Clerk Mr M Ashley

Press

#### ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AGENDA ITEMS

# 1. Chairman of The Council and Town Mayor

The Mayor Elect, Councillor Letch was confirmed as Chairman of the Town Council and Town Mayor.

#### 2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillor Scarbrough (personal), Councillor Way, (who would be delayed due to attendance at another meeting), Councillor Hughes apologised for medical reasons and Councillor Wright apologised fro leaving early for business reasons.

#### 3. Declarations of Interest

Code of Conduct	Councillors Downes, Way,	As members of more than one
	Nation and Wright	authority, declared that any views or
		opinions expressed at this meeting
		would be provisional and would not
		prejudice any views expressed at a
		meeting of another authority.

#### 4. Public Question Time

None.

# 5. Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Councillor Letch made and signed the acceptance statement of office of Town Council Chairman and Mayor for the municipal year.

Mayoress/Mayor's Escort

Mrs Natalia Letch was confirmed as the Mayor's Escort for the Municipal Year.

# 6. Vice Chairman of The Council and Deputy Mayor

Councillor Harris was elected as the Vice Chairman and Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year.

# 7. Appointment of Committees, Sub Committees and Working Groups

#### a. The General Purposes Committee.

It was proposed and agreed that the General Purposes Committee would consist of the following members: Councillors Mr F Letch, Miss J Harris, Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr W Brown, Mrs A Hughes, Mrs L Scarbrough, Mr P Finnegan and Mr R Wright. The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the General Purposes Committee would be decided at the first meeting of the committee.

### b. The Finance Committee.

It was proposed and agreed that the Finance Committee would consist of the following members:

The Chairman, Vice Chairman, Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr R Wright, Mr R Adams, Mrs A Hughes, Mr D Nation and Mr J Downes.

#### c. The Allotments Sub Committee.

It was proposed and agreed that the Allotments Sub Committee would consist of the following members:

The Chairman, Vice Chairman and Mr R Adams.

#### d. The Parish Paths Partnership Sub Committee.

It was proposed and agreed that the Parish Paths Sub Committee would consist of the following members of the Council and the community:

Mr R Edwards, Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr F Letch. Mr R Edwards and Mr Graham Chudley, the P3 Volunteer Co-Ordinator.

#### e. The Administration & Personnel Sub Committee.

It was proposed and agreed that the Administration & Personnel Sub Committee would consist of the following members:

The Chairman, Vice Chairman, Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr R Adams, Mr W Brown and Mrs A Hughes.

#### f. The Floral Crediton Working Group.

It was proposed and agreed that the Floral Crediton Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to ioin at a later stage):

Councillors Miss J Harris, Mr F Letch, Mrs A Hughes and Mrs L Brookes-Hocking.

# g. To appoint members to the Communications Working Group (Town Guide, Newsletter, Website).

It was proposed and agreed that the Communications Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mr D Nation, Mrs A Hughes and Mr J Downes.

#### h. The Peoples Park & Scout Memorial Gardens Working Group.

It was proposed and agreed that the Peoples Park & Scout Memorial Gardens Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Mr R Wright, Mr W Brown, Mr P Finnegan, Mrs A Hughes.

#### i. The Town Plan Working Group

It was proposed and agreed that the Town Plan Working Group would consist of the following members of the Council (members of the community would be invited to join at a later stage):

Councillors Mrs L Brookes-Hocking, Mrs A Hughes, Mr D Nation and Mr J Downes.

#### 8. Appointment of Charity Governors

It was proposed and agreed to appoint Councillor Joyce Harris and Mrs Gillian Ponsford as the Council's Charity Governors

#### 9. Appointment of Representatives

The following elected representatives were appointed (absent councillors had provided prior indication of their willingness to being appointed):

#### a) Market & Coastal Town Initiative (Devon Towns Forum)

Councillors Mr J Downes and Mrs L Brookes-Hocking. Devon Association of Parish Councils (County Committee & Larger b) Councils Sub Committee) Councillor Mrs L Brookes-Hocking. Crediton Area Management & Marketing c) Councillor Mrs A Hughes **Crediton Twinning Association** d) Councillor Mrs A Hughes. Monthly Chamber of Commerce Meetings e) Councillor Mr D Nation Police Liaison Meeting f) Councillors Mr F Letch and Mr R Wright. **Boniface Link Association** g) Councillor Mrs L Scarbrough CLAG (Crediton Area Group Mid-Devon Community Safety Partnership) h) Councillors Mr R Wright and Mr F Letch. i) Friends of Crediton Station Councillors Mr N Way and Mr J Downes. Lords Meadow Business Forum j) Councillor Mr D Nation. Mid Devon PCT Care Services Project k) Councillor Mr D Nation. AQMA Steering Group I) Councillor Mr R Wright. Crediton 2009 Committee m) Councillor Mr J Downes. **Crediton Transport Action Group** n) Councillor Mr D Nation. **Crediton Climate Action Group** 0) Councillor Mr J Downes. Crediton Hospital Campaign Group p) Councillor Mr D Nation. Crediton Fairtrade Partnership q) Councillor Mr D Nation. Crediton Childrens' Centre Management Group r) Councillor Mrs A Hughes. Meeting closed at approximately 7.45pm. Signed: (F Letch, Chairman) Date: