



Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Town Council held on 16 May, 2006

Present:	Councillors	Mr R Edwards (Chairman) Miss J Harris Mrs W Brown Mr N Way Mr D Nation Mr R Adams Mrs E Brown Mr J Downes Mr C Haydon Mrs J Pitts Mr P Taylor
In Attendance:	Clerk Public Press	Mr M Maggs 1

# 1. Appointment of Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council

Councillor Mr R Edwards was confirmed as Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2006/2007.

# The Chairman addressed the meeting.

# 2. Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Councillor Edwards read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which was witnessed by the Clerk.

# 3. Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillor Mr F Letch (personal commitment).

# 4. Declarations of Interest

None.

5. Chairman's nomination for Mayoress/Mayor's Escort for 2006/2007 The Chairman nominated Ms Ruth Redman as Mayor's Escort.

# 6. Election of Vice-Chairman

The Chairman requested written nominations for Vice-Chairman. Councillor Miss J Harris was elected for the municipal year 2006/2007.

# 7. General Purposes Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the General Purposes Committee would consist of the following members: Councillors, Mr R Edwards, Miss J Harris, Mr C Haydon, Mr W Brown, Mrs J Pitts, Mr R Adams, Mr J Downes and Mr P Taylor.

The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the General Purposes Committee would be decided at the first meeting.

## 8. Finance Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Finance Committee would be: The Chairman, the Vice-Chairman, Councillors Mrs J Pitts, Mr C Haydon, Mr D Nation, Mr R Adams.

## 9. Allotments Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Allotments Sub Committee would consist of the following members:

Councillors Mr R Adams, Mr F Letch and Miss J Harris.

## **10. Floral Crediton Sub Committee**

It was proposed and agreed that the Floral Crediton Sub Committee would be: Mrs G Ponsford, Mr N Ponsford, Mr M Szabo and Councillors Mrs J Pitts and Miss J Harris.

#### **11. Parish Paths Sub Committee**

It was proposed and agreed that the Parish Paths Sub Committee would be: Mr I Sneddon, Councillors Mr R Edwards and Mr F Letch.

## 12. Administration & Personnel Sub Committee

It was proposed and agreed that the Administration & Personnel Sub Committee would consist of the following members: The Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Mr R Adams, Mrs E Brown and Mr N Way.

## **13. School and Charity Governors**

Appointments of Charity Governors were confirmed as follows:Haywards Educational FoundationMrs G PonsfordCrediton United CharitiesMrs G Ponsford and Councillor Miss J Harris

## 14. Annually Elected Representatives

The following elected representatives were	appointed:	
Upper Deck Restoration Project	Councillors Mr C Haydon and Mrs J Pitts.	
Devon Association of Parish Councils	Councillor Mr R Edwards	
Crediton Area Management & Marketing	Councillor Mr P Taylor	
Crediton Twinning Association	Councillor Mr J Downes	
Monthly Chamber Meeting	Councillor Mr P Taylor	
Police Liaison Meeting	Councillors Mr C Haydon, Miss J Harris and Mr	
	P Taylor	
(Councillors Mr R Edwards and Mr J Downes to attend/substitute when required)		
Boniface Link Association	Councillor Mr R Edwards	
Mid Devon Community Safety Partnership	Councillor Mr P Taylor	
Friends of Crediton Station	Councillor Mr N Way	
Lords Meadow Business Forum	Councillor Mr N Way	
Mid Devon PCT Care Services Project	Councillor Mr D Nation	
AQMA Steering Group	Councillor Mr W Brown	
Crediton 2009 Committee	Councillor Mr J Downes	
Town Square Advisory Group	Councillor Mr J Downes	

Meeting closed at 8.05pm.

Signed:

(R C Edwards – Chairman)

Date: